Kitchen Aid - Is This One Worth It?

Decorating By cakedaze Updated 1 Dec 2008 , 3:13pm by cakedaze

cakedaze Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedaze Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 1:39am
post #1 of 9

Walmart has a Kitchen Aid K5SSWH it is 250 watts, 10 speed, & 4.5 quarts for $198. Is it worth it? Or should I hold out for finding a better KA on sale? I can't go over 200.

I'm an amatuer baker - I don't bake cakes every week. However, the stand mixer I have is an OLD Sunbeam (probably 15+ years) & is in the death process icon_cry.gif

Perhaps someone knows of another brand that would be as good/better than a Kitchen Aid for 200.

Thanks for you input!!
Dana

8 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 2:07am
post #2 of 9

Here's what a quick check on the net yielded for Kitchenaid stand mixers best deal:

http://kitchendailydeal.blogspot.com/2006/07/great-deal-on-kitchenaid-artisan-5.html

From the Amazon site:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=kitchenaid+stand+mixer

Kitchenaid stand mixer rebates:

http://tinyurl.com/5kwwht

HTH

bettinashoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bettinashoe Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 2:19am
post #3 of 9

I love Kitchenaid. I have the Artisan 5-quart and the 6-quart professional from Kitchenaid. I wouldn't recommend going with less power than the Artisan especially if you're going to invest $200 in a mixer. The site posted by JanH shows it for $209 with rebate which is a really good deal.

joenshan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joenshan Posted 1 Dec 2008 , 2:24am
post #4 of 9

I know many people are reluctant to do this, but I got my KitchenAid Epicurean (6 qt) for $110.00 off of Craigslist. Maybe I got lucky, but there were quite a few for sale. Mine was in perfect condition and works great. Might be worth a look if you're on a budget. Especially in this economy, there may be a lot of people looking to unload things they never use for quick cash.