So............ I Started Making Diaper Cakes!!!

Lounge By IloveEmmaCakes Updated 29 Nov 2008 , 2:45am by IloveEmmaCakes

IloveEmmaCakes Posted 28 Nov 2008 , 8:26pm
post #1 of 5

I've been making cakes for a while now & a lady emailed me last week & asked if I could make her a diaper cake.

my response "sure". lol I've never tried it before but I got online & asked my best friend Sarah to help me. (she's made one before).

I made one & it turned out great!! The lady was hosting a baby shower for her friend who was having a little boy.
She wanted a sports theme.

She said she was on a budget & could only spend $30 on the cake so I said "no problem, I'll see what I can do".

I went to wal mart and target and got all of the supplies.. The total was $32.58 not including the diapers..

So I didn't make a profit what so ever, but I got to FINALLY make a diaper cake & now I'm going to start making these along with my real cakes..
I'm getting ready to make a website for my diaper cakes and post pictures..

So if anybody out there on CC needs a diaper cake I can custom make one and Also ship it to ya!
You can email me @ [email protected]

I'll attach the pictures of the 1st one that I sold today!

BTW-- the customer LOVED it!
icon_lol.gif
LL
LL
LL

4 replies
GI Posted 28 Nov 2008 , 9:34pm
post #2 of 5

Cute! What did you use for your center "post"?

IloveEmmaCakes Posted 29 Nov 2008 , 12:31am
post #3 of 5

Well On the bottom tier I just used a diaper.. On the top tier I used a burp Cloth.. (I had bought 4 in a pack so I figured I might as well use them) icon_biggrin.gif

But I did use wooden Dowels (sp?).. just like I would a normal cake so that the top wouldn't slide off the bottom!

GI Posted 29 Nov 2008 , 1:12am
post #4 of 5

Very cute indeed! I've looked at diaper cake constructions before, wondering if I could make a "diaper cake" cake...you know...to eat, heh heh. I've seen a center with a bottle of bubble bath or sparkling cider. Your's is very cute.