Selling...

Baking By lkoenig07 Updated 19 Nov 2008 , 12:48pm by TracyLH

lkoenig07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lkoenig07 Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 11

Ok, so sometime soon I plan to open a home bakery. I was telling my husband about selling cookies and he said he doesn't think they would sell. SO, I'd like to know, for those of you that sell your stuff... how many of you have actually made a profit on your cookies (mainly sugar cookies) & cookie bouquets???

10 replies
kellertur Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellertur Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 7:11pm
post #2 of 11

Hello,
I am a recently licensed home baker (tiny kitchen icon_rolleyes.gif ).
I'm not sure if this helps, but I was told (in another thread) that dropping off cookie samples at different businesses (with your card, etc) can really generate customers. I haven't tried this yet, but some of the people on here swear by it. You don't need to talk or "sell" your cookies, just drop them off and go. This would be a great time of year to start. (corporate gifts, etc.)
I am about to drop off some samples to my Chiropractor, dentist, and some other small businesses I know... (I'm not brave enough yet to do complete stranger walk-ins) icon_cool.gif

I haven't looked at your photos yet (about to) but I bet they are great.

good luck and keep us updated!! icon_smile.gif

lkoenig07 Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 8:21pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks so much! I haven't tried the cookies yet, but I really would like to.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 8:36pm
post #4 of 11

Is there a Cookies by Design close to you? If so, point this out to your husband with a big "TOLD you cookies sell!" icon_twisted.gif

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 8:49pm
post #5 of 11