Some Expert Help Please...

Decorating By Reganlynn Updated 15 Nov 2008 , 6:00pm by marknelliesmum

Reganlynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Reganlynn Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 4:00pm
post #1 of 8

Hello, I am fairly new to cake decorating. I have been putting my cakes on cardboard cake rounds that I cover in paper to match the paper I put on my cake board. The trouble I am having is that it never looks neat. What I am doing wrong, I see beautiful ones on here that are flawless. I can never get the paper on a round to be neat. Here is a picture of a cake I made last night, see the paper on the cardboard beneath the bottom cake....you can see all the spots where it's not flush. How do I correct this? Do you just put the cake directly on the board, and skip the cardboard round all together? Thank You!!

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1288044

7 replies
seagoat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
seagoat Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 4:09pm
post #2 of 8

You might try using a lighter paper or here are some instructions throught wilton.

http://www.wilton.com/decorating/cake-decorating/covering-cake-board-with-fanci-foil.cfm

gales Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gales Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 4:10pm
post #3 of 8

Not an expert, but I never use them, I put the cake straight on to the board. Are there many on rounds and then boards in the gallery? If there are, I have not noticed them. Perhaps if you work mainly in bc it can get quite messy and you need the. I work mainly in fondant and haven't found a need. Sorry if this doesn't help. Perhaps an expert will answer soon.

ski Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ski Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 4:11pm
post #4 of 8