Sheet Cakes Won't "rise To The Occasion".. Help!!!

Decorating By kellertur Updated 15 Nov 2008 , 4:33pm by kellertur

kellertur Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellertur Posted 14 Nov 2008 , 11:49pm
post #1 of 9

How do you get 1 layer sheet cakes to reach 2 inches???? Mine always come out of the oven around 1 inch and that's following the recommended amount of batter... Is this correct????

How high is a 1 layer sheet cake supposed to be anyway???

Thanks ~ cake due Sunday... icon_surprised.gif

(I hate sheet cakes....) icon_rolleyes.gif

8 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 1:27am
post #2 of 9

What size pan are you using - like a 12x18?
Are you using boxmix or scratch recipe? HOw many?
A sheet cake should be 2" tall.

kellertur Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 1:44am
post #3 of 9

I'm a scratch baker, which probably complicates things.

I don't own a 12x18 so I'm using two 9x13 side by side... three 9x13 total (one on top). (the design makes sense, if my explanation doesn't)
to serve: 70 (there will also be a pregnant belly and breasts)
Have I lost anyone yet???? icon_confused.gif

The recipe(s) I have state that one batch (3 cups of flour, etc.) fills etiher two 9" pans or one 9x13. Where am I going wrong in the math???? icon_cry.gif This cake is due Sunday and I'm worried now I'm going to be baking for the rest of my life to finish this...

as I've said previously... I hate sheet cakes. I'm much more comfortable carving and stacking. icon_sad.gif

Thank you for helping me.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 2:07am
post #4 of 9

I don't make 9x13's anymore, but I do remember that even tho' it says one cake mix, it didn't seem to be quite enough batter. 1.5 mixes, maybe. baking strips and reducing the baking temp helps, too.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 2:26am
post #5 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by K2cakes

icon_confused.gif