Cake Needed For V. Special Person - Any Ideas?

Decorating By marknelliesmum Updated 13 Nov 2008 , 7:59pm by marknelliesmum

marknelliesmum Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 5:39pm
post #1 of 13

Hi guys
One of my work colleagues is leaving and while we are all delighted for her we are also devastated to be losing her. She is such a kind, considerate and helpful person . I'm struggling to come up with ideas for a great cake, I want the theme to be 'all the luck and love in the world' or something along those lines, I also want it to be lovely for her but i'm only a hobby baker. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks thumbs_up.gif

12 replies
Tweedie Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 5:51pm
post #2 of 13

Maybe your theme could be based around something about her...like what is her favorite flower/color, which would be a pretty simple cake but can be elegant and thoughtful at the same time. Or where is she going? Is it another state or city? If so, you could include something significant from that area on the cake.

gales Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 6:09pm
post #3 of 13

My daughter did one out of My Carole Deacon book for her MIL and her sister, who are not twins but share the same birthday week. They were going away for a few days and it was transported by car in secret to the location and did not come to any harm. It was a plain sheet cake covered in buttercream and fondant with simple flowers forming a bouquet. I am going to try and download the photo she sent me via email, but I'm not sure if this will work. The cake is simple to construct but looks really good

marknelliesmum Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 6:21pm
post #4 of 13