Mmf And Tylose Powder How To????

Decorating By CookiezNCupcakez Updated 19 Nov 2008 , 11:45pm by ceshell

CookiezNCupcakez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookiezNCupcakez Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 4:52pm
post #1 of 9

I'm very new to this and I plan on making MMF for the first time. I would like to make some 3D figures. Could someone please tell me how much tylose powder do I add to a batch of MMf fondant? So adding tylose to fondant now makes it gumpaste? Is it best to make 2 batches of fondant one w/ tylose for figures etc and one batch without for cut outs and cake/cookie covering??

Any help you can give would be great! I'm sorry if I seem clueless... icon_redface.gif

Thanks a bunch!

8 replies
drowninginfondant Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drowninginfondant Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 7:54pm
post #2 of 9

Not that I'm doing it right but I never add anything to my mmf. I've made many 3D figures with just mmf with great results. I do let my figures dry/harden in a pizza box or shoe box. I've attached a couple of recent pictures of cakes with figures. The circus cake is one that I duplicated from this website. I don't want to take credit for the idea. Good luck!
LL

CookiezNCupcakez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookiezNCupcakez Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 9:08pm
post #3 of 9

Thanks for the reply! Love your cake too...hummm so mabey I don't need tylose powder??!This is confusing LOL icon_confused.gificon_confused.gif

SweetStuff30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetStuff30 Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 10:08pm
post #4 of 9

I find my figuars out of MMF seem to squish down after a day of sitting out 'drying' I would think maybe add extra icing sugar to the MMF to make the figuars more stiff? I havent had to make any in a while so i havent had a chance to try that. But yeah i dont seem to have much luck with figuars out of MMF either!

ceshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ceshell Posted 14 Nov 2008 , 6:05am
post #5 of 9