Heard This At The Store And Just Had To Share

Lounge By l80bug79 Updated 13 Nov 2008 , 7:41pm by l80bug79

l80bug79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
l80bug79 Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 4:49pm
post #1 of 5

so i'm new at the cake decorating thing and definately don't
"toot my own horn", so i found this comical. I had to pick up some stuff at Michael's and use my 50% off coupon of course, so i'm in the cake aisle and there's an older couple and a young girl discussing the cake the lady was making for the girl. the girl asked something (couldn't hear it/ wasn't paying attention...get in and get out kinda thing) and the lady says " well, no one makes a cake like i do you won't find ANYONE else who will make it like me." i thought to myself, hmmm, she must have a lot of experience and proud of her cakes (wish i could see them) so why is she buying the basic stuff? shouldn't a veteran decorator already have cake pans and seperator plates??? the girl asked her if she needed some of the wilton colors, and she said OH NO i don't use that i use royal icing for my colors?!?!? huh??? not trying to be judgemental, but in my opinion, unless you're colette peters, brownyn (s/p?) webber, i'm pretty sure most cake decorators still bake a cake, ice it and decorate it. i just smiled and moved on. just wanted to share.

4 replies
emrldsky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emrldsky Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 5

Well, she wasn't lying! I don't know anyone who WOULD make a cake the way she does. *snort*

stephaniescakenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephaniescakenj Posted 13 Nov 2008 , 6:32pm
post #3 of 5

was the girl asking her if she needed wilton colored icing and the woman responded that she uses royal icing maybe? she's probably your typical grandma, can make a good tasting cake but doesn't know much about decorating, I remember my grandma being like that. Everything on the cake was rock hard icon_biggrin.gif

KKC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile