Wasc Cake From Scratch?

Decorating By marriedtoagreek74 Updated 12 Nov 2008 , 5:30pm by UltimateCakes

marriedtoagreek74  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marriedtoagreek74 Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 12:39pm
post #1 of 5

Hi all,

I live overseas and they only have one type of cake mix here and that is choco and it's about 7 euros or $9-10 a box. Needless to say I am a scratch baker because of this and also just because I like to do it that way. I am always reading about the WASC cake and really want to use it but would have to do from scratch, anyone know how to do this? Also I have a recipe for a White Texas Sheet cake, is the same type of taste/recipe?

TIA,
Amy

4 replies
 UltimateCakes  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
UltimateCakes Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 12:49pm
post #2 of 5

Definately a candidate for my WASC:

The *original* WASC cake recipe by kakeladi
1 box cake mix (I prefere Betty Crocker) *see notes at end
1 cup flour
1 cup granulated sugar
generous dash of salt*

1 cup sour cream*
1 cup water *
3 whole eggs
1 tablespoon flavoring*
In bowl mix together dry ingredients. It's helpful if you use a wire wisk, but optional. In mixer bowl place next 3 ingredients. Add about 1/2 of the dry ingredients and blend together, then add the rest of the dry ingredients & blend. Mix for 2 minutes.
Pour into prepared pans * and bake as usual.

*NOTES: any cake flavor can be used. Match the flavoring to the cake flavor such use lemon/almond mix for lemon cake; strawberry for a strawberry cake etc, etc. For most flavors you can use a mixture of vanilla, butter, and almond which is what I do most of the time.
You can use milk, cream or even juice for the liquid.
This recipe is based on mixing in a kitchenaid mixer. I use position #1 to stir it, then #4 or 5 to mix the batter.
Most of the time I forget to add the salticon_smile.gif
On rare occasions I have used other brands of mix.