Bronwen Weber - Nervous And Excited

Decorating By mcalhoun Updated 12 Nov 2008 , 5:07pm by tracycakes

mcalhoun Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 8:46pm
post #1 of 12

I have signed up for a class w/ her making a stand up Santa. I am excited but a little nervous that I will be such an amateur that I will embarrass myself. Has anyone taken a class w/ her? Will it be way over my head? I have been decorating for about 3 years now and have done lots of things w/ fondant just really nervous for some reason. Please tell me she is a great teacher and really patient

11 replies
-K8memphis Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 8:53pm
post #2 of 12

You will love her and want to take her home with you. She is an amazing teacher and a naturally encouraging person to be around. She teaches the way to think about cakes and decorating too. "It's only cake" she says convincingly.

My son had her in culinary school and I got to take a 1-day class with her in Arkansas earlier this year. I am both a professional decorator and a home decorator so I got my clown cake completed early in class. Maybe half the class did not fully complete theirs but it's absolutley no worries--you just take it home with yah.

My advice--take a turntable.

Yagonnaluvit!!!

-K8memphis Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 8:55pm
post #3 of 12

But no--she puts it on the bottom shelf where everyone can reach it--no worries.

TJCanadian Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 9:10pm
post #4 of 12

I've taken a class with Bronwen and she really will teach things so that you won't feel intimidated by it. She's right, its only cake, and there isn't anything you can't fix.

ShopGrl1128 Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 9:23pm
post #5 of 12

I took a class with her this past September and now I love her even more.
She's very sweet, funny and warm.

I was also nervous and intimidated but she's lovely.
My project did not turned out as well as I expected, but hey! you are learning, it's not a competition.