Practice/test Cakes

Decorating By enoid Updated 15 Nov 2008 , 12:30pm by Sweet_Guys

enoid Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 1:50am
post #1 of 17

Hi, I'm new to decorating cakes. I was wondering what any of you do with your practice/test cakes? It is only my husband and me so eating a whole cake is not practical or healthy. I have take some to work but there are only four in the office so that isn't much better. Just wondering.

16 replies
enoid Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 2:16am
post #2 of 17

Anyone?

ThanhThanh Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:34am
post #3 of 17

Just ice the sheet boards and decorate

jammjenks Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:38am
post #4 of 17

or you could purchase some styrofoam dummies to practice on.

enoid Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:44pm
post #5 of 17

Thanks for the suggestions!

mommicakes Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 7:08pm
post #6 of 17

Sometimes I just flip over my pans and use them to fondant cover and then put design things on them.

havingfun Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 12:03am
post #7 of 17

I have donated my practice cakes to the homeless shelter to serve at the free lunch. (Sponsored by our Allied Churches ) They really are very appreciative of any amount of anything. Or, why not look into the women's shelter? There are always children that could use something special in their lives.

TC123 Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 12:42am
post #8 of 17

Hi ~ If you really don't want to spend all the time and money on baking a cake every time you want to decorate, I would say work on a styrofoam cake "dummy".

However, if you wish to keep on bakin', you can donate to your local post office. Or sometimes I'll put a note in my mail box for my mail carrier to come to the house, and I'll give her some to her. Or how about the attendants at the gas station that you frequent? When I bake, and know I'll have a lot left over, I often do this. icon_smile.gif

giraffe11 Posted 15 Nov 2008 , 12:51am
post #9 of 17