Matching Colors

Decorating By lchris Updated 8 Nov 2008 , 9:55pm by CheriN

lchris Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lchris Posted 8 Nov 2008 , 4:21pm
post #1 of 9

I'm a newbie, so be gentle.... icon_wink.gif

How do you get your colors to match when using BC and fondant/gumpaste accents?
TIA

8 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 8 Nov 2008 , 4:34pm
post #2 of 9

Do they really have to match exactly? Most of the time decos are another shade or color to help them be noticed.
When coloring any icing make note of how much coloring you have added so you can repeat it or just do it by eyeballing icon_smile.gif
Did you just dip a toothpick into a jar of color & swirl that in OR did you use the tip of a knife and have it rather thick on there? Did you need to add 1/2 a bottle of paste color before you were satisified?

lchris Posted 8 Nov 2008 , 4:43pm
post #3 of 9

Thanks Kakeladi.
Well, I'm trying to match the BC for piping accents to match the bows. I ususally do the toothpick swirl thing, but that's not accurate for reproducing is it. Any tricks to be more accurate?

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 8 Nov 2008 , 4:51pm
post #4 of 9

They will probably never match perfectly but that is the wonder of different shades of color....It will look great don't worry!!!

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 8 Nov 2008 , 6:01pm
post #5 of 9