Smoothing Cream Cheese Icing...

Decorating By tonia3604 Updated 8 Nov 2008 , 5:39am by aztomcat

tonia3604 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonia3604 Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 4:14am
post #1 of 18

Can you smooth a crusting cream cheese icing as well as you can buttercream?

17 replies
pastryjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastryjen Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 4:58am
post #2 of 18

I wouldn't see why not...I hear Earlene's is a good one.

Edited to add...It's late, I'm tired and I have no experience with crusting cc so I really shouldn't have responded. Sorry! icon_redface.gif

Amy729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amy729 Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 5:21am
post #3 of 18

I would love to hear responses to this.

I am to the point of not icing cakes with CC icing. (Only use as filling)

I have used so many recipes and can't really get a smooth finish.

So I am all ears! (Or eyes lol) icon_smile.gif

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 5:33am
post #4 of 18

I'm interested in the feedback to this question too!

aztomcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aztomcat Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 5:54am
post #5 of 18

I use a crusting cream cheese with meringue powder in it. The recipe I use is listed here. I then smooth it with the melvira method.

Here are a few examples:

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1123023

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1123083

You have to have a firm cream cheese icing for this.

Dee in AZ

plbennett_8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
plbennett_8 Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 6:05am
post #6 of 18

Dee,

I can't believe you didn't give them the link...lol icon_razz.gif I bless the day that I found your recipe, and sing it's praises at every opportunity! icon_biggrin.gif It's the best cream cheese frosting every created for decorators!

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-6817-Wedding---Crusting-Cream-Cheese-Frosting.html