What To Do

Decorating By Chefperl Updated 9 Nov 2008 , 11:52pm by -K8memphis

Chefperl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chefperl Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 1:35am
post #1 of 40

ok, so i am making cupcakes and a small cake for a women who is a food editor. She has been driving me crazy about dry cakes, so i finally gave her a cupcake for free to try so she can relax. (my most popular cake is a WASC with some alterations) so this is the email she sent me. what should i say?

"The cupcake was really very good. I'm thinking the flavors I chose will be even better. I want to be able to tell everyone that your cakes and icings are all "made from scratch", correct? No doctoring up cake/frosting mixes, correct? Ilene (Because I am a food writer, they all expect the very best and I hope you understand.)"

39 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 1:45am
post #2 of 40

Tell her that you use the finest pre-measured ingredients.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 1:50am
post #3 of 40

I agree w/K8 icon_wink.gif

TC123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TC123 Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 2:01am
post #4 of 40

.... Oh goodness. icon_surprised.gif I'd be scrambling to find an awesome scratch cupcake recipe right now. But I know, I know, this whole "scratch vs cake mix" topic's been battled over in various threads, and we all feel differently about it. On the occasions that I have started with a mix and "altered" it to my satisfaction, if anyone says the cake is good, I always tell them I started with a cake mix. But anyway, that's just me, and only you can decide how to handle your situation... I do like k8memphis response. I would never think of it! icon_biggrin.gif

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 2:07am
post #5 of 40