How Do I Make These Better?

Decorating By mommy2landonmason Updated 11 Nov 2008 , 3:29pm by kandu001

mommy2landonmason Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommy2landonmason Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 7:28pm
post #1 of 15

Okay, please don't laugh. This is my first time trying a cupcake bouquet. I am practicing because I want to make some for my sons' school bazaar this weekend. I tried making roses and placing them onto the cupcakes and i made some directly onto the cupcake, which i liked the look better. Please help me figure out how to make it a prettier presentation?! I know I need the âflowerâ to be bigger, but is that the reason it doesnât look right?
LL

14 replies
johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 7:47pm
post #2 of 15

Trying placing the center ones just a bit higher. Like a floral arrangment, high in the back, lower in the front OR higher in the center, lower around the perimiter.

Also, I like them better when I add stuff in between. Like a little crumpled crepe paper, or my favorite --- those foil things on a stck (hard to describe, but 33 cents at hobby lobby). Think tall frilly toothpick.

I think using a two tone icing help. Swirl in some orange or red in your bag before you start.

HTH Rita

banba Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
banba Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 8:32pm
post #3 of 15

Mommy2landonmason you did a lovely job for your first attempt icon_smile.gif

I would agree with everything johnson6ofus said and if I may add maybe just a little less tissue paper so as not to distract from the lovely cupcakes!

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 9:41pm
post #4 of 15