Great Books And Not So Great Books

Decorating By CakeChica Updated 8 Nov 2008 , 6:20am by erikamj

CakeChica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeChica Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 7:23pm
post #1 of 16

I am new to cake decorating just under a year however I have been baking for about 3 years. I love books and when I was younger I slept with a book instead of a stuffed animal. (My mom thought that was weird.) So I now am collecting baking and cake decorating books. So far my faves are The Secrets of Baking, Death by Chocolate Cakes, The Dessert Book, Baking From My Home to Yours and I have one Toba Garrett book Professional Cake Decorating which was not cheap but I think its worth the money. Anyway I thought I would ask everyone about decorating and baking books that I might want to add to my collection.

1. What books/authors do you recommend?

2. Which do you not recommend?

15 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 9:55pm
post #2 of 16

I really like Lindy's books and I'm dying to get Martha Stewart's Wedding Cake book! I can't wait to hear what other people recommend!

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 10:01pm
post #3 of 16

Before you ask, it's Lindy Smith. I forgot her last name for a minute!

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 10:57pm
post #4 of 16

Mary Ford. She has many books out and I thought many interesting designs. I am basically a b;cream decorator and being from England many of her techniques used fondant or royal but they were easily dup'ed in b'cream icon_smile.gif

Nic Lodge; JenniferMI; SugarShack (SharonZ) all have wonderful, informative DVDs out that in my opinion are better than booksicon_smile.gif

michellenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michellenj Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 11:12pm
post #5 of 16

I love the Whimsical Bakehouse.

Susie53 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Susie53 Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 11:22pm
post #6 of 16