Need Help From Food Allergies Expert! Wheat Nut & Soy F

Baking By nefgaby Updated 9 Nov 2008 , 3:20am by nefgaby

nefgaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nefgaby Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 1:58am
post #1 of 12

Hi!!! icon_smile.gif

I had a request today for Wheat, Nut (all nuts including peanuts) and Soy Free Sugar Cookies. I don't know if this is even possible as I have very little knowledge on food allergies.
Of course, I googled it and this is what I found:

Recipe for sugar cookies
1 1/2 cups brown rice flour
1/2 cup tapioca starch
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1 Teaspoon Baking Powder (wheat free?, someone wrote on the same forum I found this recipe at)
1 Teaspoon Vanilla
1 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup Butter, Softened
2 Eggs, beaten

In a medium size bowl, mix brown rice flour, tapioca starch, salt, and baking powder. Blend well and set aside. In a mixing bowl, cream Butter, and slowly add sugar and cream until light and fluffy. Add the two beaten Eggs and Vanilla and blend again. Add Flour mixture and mix until mixture pulls away from the side of the bowl. Place cookie dough in waxed paper (rolled it like a log) and chill in the refrigerator for several hours. When the dough is chilled, you can either cut it with cookie cutters or slice it to make round cookies.

Bake on an un-greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees. Let them cool first, before taking off of the cookie sheet. This reduces crumbling. Also use a spatula, to remove the cookies from the pan.

So please excuse my ignorace and help me!!! I really want to find a good recipe and be 100% sure I will not harm the little girl who these cookies are for.

I would really appreciate any info and advice, also, regarding the rest of ingredients, just make sure everything is safe, as some ingredients are processed with wheat (found out quacker oats are procesed with wheat!) as is baking powder. Also were do I buy brown rice flour, wheat free baking powder and tapioca starch???

Thanks again!!!! thumbs_up.gif

11 replies