Should Someone Just Smack Me Or Go For It?!?!?

Decorating By butterfly831915 Updated 10 Nov 2008 , 8:07pm by -K8memphis

butterfly831915 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterfly831915 Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 6:59pm
post #1 of 15

icon_rolleyes.gif Okay, I am making my little sisters baby shower cake this weekend and I am getting a brain storm and just can't decide if I should go for it or stop where I was at before the storm. For her shower I want to do a hat box cake with the baby's head popping out of it and then some cupcakes. Now as I sat here on CC all day at work I am brain storming and thinking, maybe I should do another hat box with the butt popping out of it, like the baby may be trying to crawl out of the box backwards one on each end of the table with the punch fountain in the center instead of end to end. I should explain that it will be my first time using mmf and shaping as well. I am pretty new at all of this but I want it to be something so special for her. I don't care how much time it takes for me to do it. Heck, I've been working for months on the actual shower, hand made invites 100 of them, all home made center pieces out of baby socks to look like flowers, all the games persionalized and even the main hanging decorations have been homemade as well as all the table clothes. Do you think the cakes would be odd or should I just go for it or should someone smack me to stop my brain storm. Help!! I think I'm going out of control!!! icon_eek.gifthumbsdown.gifthumbs_up.gificon_rolleyes.gif

14 replies
Ironbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ironbaker Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 7:03pm
post #2 of 15

I say you stick with your original idea, the less explaining you have to do, the better.

WendyB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WendyB Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 7:03pm
post #3 of 15

I think just the head/hatbox sounds fantastic. Unless you need more cake I'd just concentrate on cook little details on the one cake.