Break From Traditional Decorators Icing

Decorating By CakeInfatuation Updated 9 Nov 2008 , 9:02pm by CakeInfatuation

CakeInfatuation Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 1:47pm
post #1 of 27

When I was a kid my aunt had a recipe for white icing that I thought was soooo good I was a 14 year old that asked for a recipe. I haven't made it in YEARS because it had flour in it and I kept getting lumpy icing. ha ha I'm a much better cook these days and know how to make a white sauce without lumps (Praise the Lord!!) and I'm thinking I'm going to try again.

Before I make this icing I wanted to know if any of you have used an icing that had flour in it to ice cakes? I've found a few online and one of the ones I found says that it is a "decorator icing".

I'd really like some feedback. WHY am I searching for an alternate recipe? Simply put... I HATE BUTTERCREAM. It's too heavy and way to cavity sweet for me. I really like a lighter feeling icing. Ideally, I'd have buckets of Rich's Bettercream to work with. But... not happening. So... If I can find an icing I can decorate with (basically cover the cake in and put between the layers and NOT have the layers slide around), then I'm a happy woman. I really prefer fondant decorating so I don't care about piping a rose.

SMBC and IMBC are both very expensive with all the egg whites and they don't hold up well. I LOVE the flavor, but the stress for me, isn't worth it. I can't get it thick enough to not slide around.

Here's my Aunt's Recipe:

1 cup milk
1/2 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup crisco

Cook flour, salt, and milk until thick like white sauce. Let cool.
Cream together sugar and shortening till light and fluffy.
Add cooled sauce and vanilla. Beat till stiff.

--------

Cake Decorators Icing
Basic Recipe:
By Marjorie Geddes

1 cup of flour
1 cup of shortening
1/2 tsp of salt
1/2 cup of water
- icing sugar