Someone Pinch Me, I Must Be Dreaming!

Decorating By Amia Updated 11 Jan 2009 , 5:29am by dmich

Amia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amia Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 3:34am
post #1 of 37

So I just got a call from a family friend. She wants me to make her wedding cake in January...sure I can do that. It'll be my first, but I have time to practice and the cake is simple with fresh flowers - no biggie! She then proceeds to tell me she has a new job at a wedding venue in Seguin, TX. Exciting! Her new job: wedding coordinator. This is where it gets good! She wants me to be the cake decorator for the venue. icon_eek.gif They just opened and she thinks my cakes are wonderful and brides would love them (they're okay, but not wedding-worthy!). I tell her I'm a hobbyist and there is no way for me to be a legal homebaker and I don't have the means to build a separate kitchen and Texas sucks. She tells me that the venue has it's own huge fully equipped commercial kitchen and she's going to talk to the owner about letting me rent it to do my cakes! icon_eek.gificon_eek.gificon_eek.gificon_eek.gificon_eek.gif

I don't even know what to say or do or think. I'm barely breathing here! This would be a great opportunity but I don't think that I'm good enough to do wedding cakes. I'm also registering next week for Spring classes. And the stress! OMG, the stress! After reading all y'alls horror stories, I'm scared to death to make a wedding cake! icon_cry.gif I need some ice cream. icon_cry.gif

36 replies
glendaleAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
glendaleAZ Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 4:36am
post #2 of 37

Congratulations. Itâs a wonderful opportunity. Maybe you could have an agreement to do only one or two cakes a week.

Meemawfish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Meemawfish Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 3:16pm
post #3 of 37

That's wonderful and I've looked at your photos and I'm sure you won't have a problem. Beautiful cakes. icon_biggrin.gif

VannaD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile