Making A Larger Sheet Cake?

Decorating By rosa727 Updated 3 Nov 2008 , 6:51pm by tonia3604

rosa727 Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 6:00pm
post #1 of 7

I am a total cake decorating novice, but I am planning on making my son's 2nd birthday cake. It is going to be a construction zone, so I can just have fun with it. But I need to feed about 40 people, and a 13 by 9 pan is not going to be big enough for what I want to do. So should I try to buy a large sheet cake pan? If so, what size, and will it fit in my oven? Or should I bake 2 smaller rectangles and put them side by side and frost over them to create one big cake. What's the best idea? I just know that 13 by 9 is the biggest standard size pan. I guess larger pans require you to double the recipe? Any help would be appreciated. I realize this may sound like a dumb question!

6 replies
banba Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 6:17pm
post #2 of 7

Hi rosa

I can only help with some of your questions. Measure your oven and then look up pan sizes on the net to see how big you can go.

I have read on here that you can use cake mix extender recipes or use multiple cake mixes.

You could do what you are already thinking yourself like putting 2 cakes together but I would make sure to use a cake drum and not just cardboard for this type of cake. So if you are moving the cake the join you ice over won't become visible. You can also just glue multiple cardboards together either.

Rosa there are no dumb questions ever icon_smile.gif Best of luck and don't forget the photos!

mommyle Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 6:33pm
post #3 of 7

Welcome to the wonderful world of decorating!!!