Pour Ganache Before Or After Stacking???????

Decorating By OhioBaker Updated 3 Nov 2008 , 10:23pm by indydebi

OhioBaker Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 1:58pm
post #1 of 13

I need to make a three tier wedding cake for my cousin in a couple weeks. I've never used Ganache before and I wonder if I should pour the ganache on before I stack them or after? If before, will the ganache crack when I stack them?

Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

12 replies
cupcakemkr Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 2:06pm
post #2 of 13

It shouldn't. When you stack your cakes the cake teirs are actually sitting on the supports (dowels/sps) and that holds the weight of the cake.

HTH

tcakes65 Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 2:13pm
post #3 of 13

I did a 4-tier wedding cake two weeks ago with ganache. The ganache was poured over the tiers before stacking. I poured the ganache on the morning of the wedding, probably an hour or so before stacking at the site. Here is a pic.
LL

bcake1960 Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 2:25pm
post #4 of 13

Thanks for asking this question... I have one to do soon and would have had to ask the same thing.. only at the last minute.. haha.. Metro: that cake is beautiful! great job! thumbs_up.gif

alvarezmom Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 2:46pm
post #5 of 13

I second that comment. Your cake looks so good!!!! Is that Chocolate BC?

indydebi Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 2:51pm
post #6 of 13

depends on the style of ganache pouring. In the pic above, yes, I would pour before stacking. In this cake that I did .... http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=987333 ..... I had to pour it over the entire cake after it was stacked, then transport it to the wedding facility.

This is the cake that pretty much forced me to try the dowel-down-the-center thing that I'd read so much about on here .... and was very happy to find it works just like everyone says it does! thumbs_up.gif

tcakes65 Posted 3 Nov 2008 , 2:54pm
post #7 of 13