I'm Torn... What To Do? (Sorry, Long)

Business By CakeInfatuation Updated 2 Nov 2008 , 10:45pm by SugarFrosted

CakeInfatuation Posted 2 Nov 2008 , 9:22pm
post #1 of 8

So here's the thing...

I only bake for fun. It's a hobby. I'm still a newbie and have lots to learn. So as far as confidence goes, I'm confident in what I have done but not at all confident that I can do what people want. Especially if I've never attempted it before.

Working at a bakery although a fantastic idea that would really improve my skills, knowledge, speed, and overall ability... it's just not going to happen. I can't pull it off with the time I have available and a 3 & 5 year old.

Lately though, I've been getting a lot of pressure from people who want my card, pricing, and other information.

Generally I tell them that I don't have any of that. I just do this for friends and family. BUT you know how it is... I would just LOVE to get paid for my work! (minus the stress ha ha ha)

And I'm also afraid that I'm going to turn into the local rug. I mean... "Stacey does great cakes! You should call her." Then because I'm not legal and don't officially have a business, I end up doing it as "a gift". They get a deal and I get walked on.

I've been told by a few lately that I really need to look into the legalities and charge what I'm worth. My husband said today if I'm going to do that, then I need a shop, I need an assistant, I need set hours so I'm not doing this all hours of the night....

Back to square one. I don't want or need all of that right now. For those of you who bake out of your homes, how do you do this? Can I do this?

I already know it will cost met at least $535 to get my license. My township charges $500 for the variance and the Dept. of Agriculture is $35 for my license.

I love to bake and make yummies. How do you overcome the obstacles and naysayers? How do you keep a positive and yet realistic point of view?