Just Thought This Was Kind Of Funny...

Decorating By shelly-101 Updated 2 Nov 2008 , 6:46pm by shelly-101

shelly-101 Posted 2 Nov 2008 , 2:54am
post #1 of 13

i am very new to the whole cake decorating only been doing it for about six months or so but i just thought this was kind of funny. When ever i do a cake and i have to make something that is supposed to look like something and i am feeling a little unsure about my self. i go get my 2 in half year old dd and ask her what is that supposed to be and if she can tell me what it is than i am happy with it but if i ask my husband the same question i don't get the same satsfaction. icon_biggrin.gif

12 replies
DerrellC Posted 2 Nov 2008 , 3:10am
post #2 of 13

hi Shelly, my wife gets great satisfaction when the person who the cake is for knows what the theme,figure is. That wonderful ear to ear grin on their face is priceless.As long as you get that reaction,you are doing something right.
As far as husbands go, my wife got me a shirt at ICES this year that said, " I'm the husband, I just carry the cake"
Keep working to improve your skills,and the doubt about your skills will deminish over time, good luck, Derrell

karapags Posted 2 Nov 2008 , 3:16am
post #3 of 13

That is very funny because I do the same thing with my 5 and 3 year old boys!

dg10148 Posted 2 Nov 2008 , 3:17am
post #4 of 13

That's true I have an 12 year old grandson I ask him what I am missing when I am done with a cake and he tells me the truth everyone else tells me nothing it looks good. By the way your cakes are very very good keep up the good work.

costumeczar Posted 2 Nov 2008 , 12:54pm
post #5 of 13

I use my kids the same way all the time, because they'll tell you the truth! Your husband always has the "Will I have to sleep on the couch tonight if I answer this wrong" tape going in the back of his head, so he might not give you the straight answer your'e looking for. Kids don't care, they'll say what they think!