Question About 'grass' Icing Tip

Decorating By ybeal Updated 29 Oct 2008 , 9:47pm by RobzC8kz

ybeal Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 7:15pm
post #1 of 9

I love the hairy spider cakes in the gallery - does anyone know how easy/difficult it is to use the Grass icing tip? I've never used it before and might give it a shot - any tips??

8 replies
projectqueen Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 7:21pm
post #2 of 9

I love the grass tip! It's easy, you just have to play around with the pressure.

ybeal Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 7:23pm
post #3 of 9

I assume you start at the bottom? Silly question probably but I'm a beginner! icon_redface.gif

gales Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 7:28pm
post #4 of 9

Never heard of one until today, what does it look like, I have always just squeezed green icing through a tea strainer (small seive) to get a "grassy" effect. I would like to know more about this tip however.

Sugarflowers Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 7:30pm
post #5 of 9

Yes, start at the bottom. Squeeze out just enough to get it to stick and then pull away. To make long "strings", keep squeezing and then pull away. It takes a little practice, but that tip will end up being one your favorites.

Good luck and welcome to CC.

Michele

sugarwishes Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 7:31pm
post #6 of 9

On the Wilton website gives a great example of the grass and which tip (#233) to use. I've tried it just to play around with and it looks great!

Heres the link, hope it comes up.
http://www.wilton.com/idea/Soccer-Team-Treats

maurerba Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 7:45pm
post #7 of 9

I just LOVE my grass tip. If you have to cover a large area your hand gets a little tired, but it is so easy and gives a great look. Go buy one it is worth your $.

maggiev777 Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 8:54pm
post #8 of 9