How Do I Get My Cheesecake To Look Like The Picture???

Decorating By Angelgirl Updated 31 Oct 2008 , 9:02am by Mike1394

Angelgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angelgirl Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 11:08am
post #1 of 15

I have posted a couple questions here the last few days about cheesecake, which I have not made often, but am baking for my wedding in 2 days. I am making several simple recipes from Philadelphia Cream Cheese's website. However, not one of my cheesecakes has turned out anything like the pictures! Maybe it's because I don't have much experience in this area...

I've learned from here to put a water bath in the bottom of the oven- or even put the cheesecake right in it. I've never done that before so I'll give it a try to keep it from cracking.

My big question is- why do the cheesecakes in the picture look so white and my get so browned? I bake them until the center is jiggly (although I read on here that it should be just the size of a silver dollar and mine is always an area bigger than that, but if I keep baking it, then it gets too brown!) Will a water bath help keep it looking more like a white cheesecake? Also, my centers always sink way more than the edges. How do I get a nice, even top? The ones I have made are just your simple New York Style.

Thanks for any help you can give me. I'm running around like a chicken with my head cut off already and don't want the cheesecakes to ruin things for me!

Becky

14 replies
drgaddy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drgaddy Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 11:56am
post #2 of 15

Here is the recipe I make...they always turn out great. I do bake them directly in the water bath - wrap the pan in the alu foil (from the bottom up), put it in the bigger pan and pour boiling water into the bigger pan.

The other important thing - make sure all your ingredients are room temperature.

2 x cream cheese (8 oz pack)
1 pint sour cream
3 eggs
1 cup sugar