What Should I Do?

Business By stephaniescakenj Updated 1 Nov 2008 , 5:37am by DragonFly2333

stephaniescakenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephaniescakenj Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 3:59am
post #1 of 13

Hi Everyone, I am in a tough spot right now and I'm hoping some of you would be willing to offer some advice. so here goes...

I am a sahm of 3 little girls. I've been working from home for the past five years and 6 weeks ago decided enough is enough, finance is too hard to concentrate on while 3 kids are running around so I'm done at the end of this week. Money will be tight without the second income and I just don't feel right bringing in no money to the household so I really feel like I need to do something, but what? so I applied at this bakery/cafe that my sister works at, they liked my portfolio and were willing to start me at $8 but I would have to train in all areas and then they would move me over to cakes, if they like my work, they say they will give me a raise... My mom has generously offered to babysit my kids part time while I start this new chapter in my life so at least I don't need to worry about babysitting for the time being but it will be hard to be away from my kids considering I've been home with them since the day my first child was born. so my other option is to look into doing this cake thing on my own but I have no real bakery experience. I've got my recipes perfected, but I have no clue how to run a business or work efficiently most importantly. I'm in NJ, there are very strict rules so I would need to rent space and I am terrified that I will incur the costs to start up a business and then not have any customers. Right now I do ok, my friends keep me busy almost every weekend and just recently I've had alot of people at these parties ask me if I would make cakes for them, but that's stepping outside my comfort zone so now I ask all of you out there... what are your thoughts? Should I go work at the bakery for a little while, see how th