Dumb Question?

Decorating By CakeInfatuation Updated 29 Oct 2008 , 12:34pm by heavensgaits

CakeInfatuation Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 12:24am
post #1 of 4

Okay...so I'm relatively new to all this and after looking at some photos of cakes that drop my jaw and watching Food Network Challenge with more cakes that drop my jaw...

I want to know about air brushing. How do you learn? What equipment do you need? Is it expensive? Can I teach myself or do I need classes?

Please... those of you who air brush, overload me with information! icon_biggrin.gif

3 replies
aztomcat Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 5:43am
post #2 of 4

I'll be interested to see the answars. Definitely not a dumb question....

My hubby bought me an airbrush set from a tool shop called Harbor Freight for less than $12 and he already owns a compressor, so he also got me an adapter for less tha $5.

So I have what I need, but haven't tried it yet.

Dee in AZ

costumeczar Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 11:16am
post #3 of 4

You can definitely teach yourself, and thre are enough videos out there to watch that you can learn a lot of techniques without paying for classes. Just be careful of the compressors...The cake decorating airbrushes have lower "firepower" than paint airbrush compressors, so if you're using a regular on with a stronger compressor it can blow the icing right off the cake.

I use mine all the time, to color flowers, spray the surface of fondant cakes, etc. I'm going to do a bunch of fall leaves today for some cakes this weekend. They definitely give you a better all-over color without streaky paint marks, if that's what you're looking for. Having said that, I think it depends on what kinds of cakes you do at to whether you'll use one a lot or not. I do a lot of gumpaste, so I use it for coloring things, but if I didn't do that I don't know if I'd use it so much. It makes really fast work of coloring gumpaste roses, though! And you can get more subtle color gradations with it.