I Want To Make Cake On My Own Time....

Decorating By hallow3 Updated 29 Oct 2008 , 11:36pm by hallow3

hallow3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hallow3 Posted 28 Oct 2008 , 11:57pm
post #1 of 14

I just moved to a new city and state and I have been making cakes and taking them to work for everybody. I get a lot of rave reviews on my cakes but these cakes are more for my creative outlet than anything but besides not having made any friends here I have turned to making cakes and getting way too involved with them, Cakes has become my friends in sort of a way. Now that I have sent a few to work and to my husband's work, I am now getting a few cake order (which I am pleased to have the opportunity) But I find that making them for other people and having a time line is stressful to me. Do any of you feel this way? I am just starting out and if they are not perfect, that is ok for me. But when I get an order, holly cow I am under the gun to try and get them right. In one way it is good because I try harder to get them right but one the other I hate that I am on such a timeline. I just wanted to get this off my chest a little, Thanks for listening.

13 replies
irishteabear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
irishteabear Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 12:14am
post #2 of 14

Just think of it the same as you would a cake for a family member. You have a deadline for their cake don't you? It doesn't matter if it's a birthday or a wedding, you usually have to have the cake finished by a certain day or time, right? At least that's how I would think of it. I don't have a business or even one in the planning stages. I just do cakes for my immediate family and friends but they all have to be done by such and such a date. I hope that helps some. icon_smile.gif

calivettie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
calivettie Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 12:22am
post #3 of 14

lol. I know exactly how you feel.