Wilton Ribbon Cutter And Embosser

Decorating By zamku Updated 29 Oct 2008 , 10:21am by linedancer

zamku Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zamku Posted 28 Oct 2008 , 10:54am
post #1 of 11

I am a newbie and am doing this just as a hobby. Since I have heard many complaints for wilton products, I would like to have advice before I buy the wilton ribbon cutter and embosser set? Is it good for a beginner? Since I do this only as a hobby I do not want to spend a lot of money on expensive products and until now I am quite contented wtih wilton tips and even the gumpaste flower set that I have though it could have been better.
Thanks,

10 replies
RobzC8kz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RobzC8kz Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 12:09am
post #2 of 11

Welcome Newbie!

I bought the Wilton embosser and cutter set and it's not my favorite thing in the world to be honest. I prefer using a very high quality pizza cutter and ruler when making cuts for stuff like ribbon. For other more intricate cuts, I use an Exacto knife set. I don't like the embosser because everything I try to emboss usually sticks to the thing and I find it more hassle than it's worth! Shoot...I rarely use mine...you can have it!!

jsmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jsmith Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 1:43am
post #3 of 11

I didn't like mine. It didn't cut all the way through and then it broke. This is what you want:

http://www.jenniferdontz.com/viewproduct.php?itemid=cut031

Every time I use it I pat myself on the back for buying it. icon_smile.gif

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 1:53am
post #4 of 11

That stupid purple little rooly thingy with the interchangeable discs? I threw mine across the room the first time I used it. Razor blades, Exacto knives and pizza cutters alllllll the way! thumbs_up.gif

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 29 Oct 2008 , 1:54am
post #5 of 11