Help! I Haveno Idea How To Charge For This...

Business By emiyeric Updated 29 Oct 2008 , 1:37am by emiyeric

emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 27 Oct 2008 , 3:52pm
post #1 of 6

Hello ladies! I've been watching and reading and enjoying everybody's posts and pics for awhile now, but am a complete amateur and so far have simply been having fun with it.
Now, I made a castle fondant cake for my 3-year-old daughter this past weekend, and I had one person inquire into making a very similar cake for a quinceanera birthday party. It is a torted 3-tier round cake, covered in white fondant, with seven pastillage/fondant turrets, royal icing details, sugarcone towers ... completely edible. I've posted a picture on cc, if you want to take a look ... and naturally, the cake board would be covered.

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1279543.html

Please let me know what you think! I have NO IDEA how to charge for this sort of thing, I've never done it before and despite looking through the boards, I'm still at a loss for how much to ask. Please help! Thank you for any suggestions!

-Emi.

5 replies
pastryjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastryjen Posted 27 Oct 2008 , 4:22pm
post #2 of 6

In my neck of the woods, fondant cakes start at $3 a serving. How many servings does your cake make? You'd need to charge extra for the turrets and extra work you do. How long did you spend making the cake? How much did it cost you to make?

Pricing all depends on your area...

HTH a little bit.

trumpetmidget Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trumpetmidget Posted 27 Oct 2008 , 4:27pm
post #3 of 6