Getting My Icing Smooth

Decorating By msnrozier Updated 25 Oct 2008 , 12:41pm by msnrozier

msnrozier Posted 24 Oct 2008 , 12:43am
post #1 of 15

I am trying to get a bit of asst on how to ice my cake!!!! everytime I sit down to ice a cake I want to just quite baking!!!

I make the BC first it was stiff but not where it would tear the cake, then I kinda made it very thin, but either way it is always wrong!!

When I turn my turntable it pulls it off the bottom, then I have to KEEP going aroung, they top OMG, when I try to do the top, it's never even, I just can't take it anymore!!! OH and when I let it harden, the wax paper, paper towel trick UMMM no that doesn't work for me neither!!! ugggggggggh

I just want to sit down to ice a cake and it look smooth!!

PLZ Help!!!! icon_sad.gif

14 replies
rvercher23 Posted 24 Oct 2008 , 12:49am
post #2 of 15

Well, lets see. I am not an expert, but here are a few tips. If you make your icing too thick, just add more powdered sugar until it gets thicker. I use a painters scraper to ice my cakes. And no matter what icing I use, I always add alittle bit of meringue powder, like 1 tsp per batch. It just stabilizes it alittle bit more. I first crumb coat my cakes and let it settle in the fridge over night or at least for a few hours. Then I take them out and ice them. I add alot of icing on the cake with a off set spatula, then with my scraper, I just set, and drag it all the way around the cake, where there are spots, I fill them in and them use my scraper again. Don't give up, just keep working at it. Hope I have helped!

ape74 Posted 24 Oct 2008 , 12:49am
post #3 of 15

You're not alone. That happens to me too. I don't know if this happens to you, but I struggle A LOT with the edges that go around the top of the cake. I've posted about this before, lol. Since I'm just starting out, I get a little frustrated because if I can't master the simple method of smoothing the icing, then I'll never master the rest.... icon_cry.gif