Home Bakers And Cake Tastings?

Decorating By gr8cakemaker Updated 23 Oct 2008 , 2:06pm by gr8cakemaker

gr8cakemaker Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 6:26pm
post #1 of 16

ok, another question for all you home bakers. I am a home baker and have a few weddings in my future. Where do you all do cake tastings? I feel a bit weird with tons of people coming to my home. I also have a 2 year old who not only has toys EVERYWHERE, but gets sick VERY easily and do not want an excess of germs in my house. I was thinking maybe a local coffee place, but wont that tick off the owners with me bringing my own cake and not ordering anything?

15 replies
muddpuppy Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 6:31pm
post #2 of 16

I doubt that they will even notice if you bring in a small package and order a cup of coffee.. I do it all the time. I also like to go to my clients houses for tastings/consults as my kitchen is not insured for anyone not employed by me...

-Tubbs Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 8:52pm
post #3 of 16

I've done a couple of weddings now and met both brides at a Starbucks. I wouldn't like to do tastings at home.

gr8cakemaker Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 9:54pm
post #4 of 16

so can I ask how you all got your business up and running. I am having a hard time getting my name out. I was thinking of making a bunch of cupcakes and packing 2 to a box. Then going door to door and introducing myself and my business....or is this creepy?

mommicakes Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 11:14pm
post #5 of 16

Most of the time, I go to the brides to be. Only because I have 4 children and things here at home are a little busy, and crazy. I have a little travel set up that I take with me, I'll try to attach a pic.

I bring flavor of cupcakes with fillings and icings in the larger paper nut cups that you can get from walmart or wherever. I put them on a cupcake carrier, and make sure that I also bring plastic plates, cutlery, and napkins. I will also bring a special little box, to leave the left over samples in for them for later.
LL