Smbc Or Bettercream???

Decorating By Dinny2222 Updated 23 Oct 2008 , 7:29am by Curtsmin24

Dinny2222 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dinny2222 Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 2:51pm
post #1 of 11

I am very new to all of this and I have been a lurking and LOVE LOVE LOVE this site. Can't believe how wonderful and generous everyone is. Now for my question. I have tried the Bettercreme (thank you very much Melvira) and loved it! Did a vanilla and chocolate version. Now I am reading all about the SMBC. Which is better for icing a cake for piping and decorations. Can you make flowers with either of them? Which tastes better as I have only tried the Bettercreme which is AMAZING! Thanks for the info!

10 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 10:21pm
post #2 of 11

Bettercreme is a non dairy whipped topping. It is more related to whipped cream than icing.
SMBC is sweetened whipped butter. Many people have likened eating it to eating a stick of butter.....doesn't sound like anything I would like icon_sad.gif

stephaniescakenj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephaniescakenj Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 10:27pm
post #3 of 11

Oh I TOTALLY disagree. Meringue buttercreams are the way to go, try it once and you'll never go back! I use IMBC which is the same thing taste wise but a different preparation method, I can do flowers, borders, etc with it and it smooths beautifully. I don't make any other kind of icing.

Jopalis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jopalis Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 10:35pm
post #4 of 11

I also love SMBC/IMBC. You cannot eat it cold from the fridge though or it does seem like eating a stick of butter. My first attempt was Shirley W's recipe posted here on CC. I do SMBC because I think it is easier. I use Martha Stewart's recipe that makes 10 cups. It is harder to pipe with the merengue/butter icings. Not impossible but harder. If bag gets too hot from your hands it will break down.