Icing Help Needed Questions On All Types! Please Advise

Decorating By mmljztaa7 Updated 23 Oct 2008 , 2:40pm by MissBaritone

mmljztaa7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmljztaa7 Posted 22 Oct 2008 , 12:24pm
post #1 of 6

Hi,
I'm melanie and new to the forum and a uk member! i have been looking at the forums and have enjoyed reading them a few of the terms i haven't quite understood but i hope to learn the lingo quickly.
I used to make cakes 14 years ago and i am no professional baker( but i am a trained chef) just a mum with a passion to please her's (my 6 boys icon_surprised.gif ) and friends kids lol, and i am loving all these new gadgets and tools which make life even easier for me however it seems even the basic things i am struggling with so here goes : icon_redface.gif

1. i made my 8 year old son(today) a snake cake on a 10" round sponge,filled it with jam and buttercream and covered with sugar paste, i made the snake out of coloured sugarpaste last night and placed it on the cake however i am disappointed to see the snake look like he is drying out, i didn't use any additional icing sugar when rolling the icing to make the snake even to prevent sticking when so wondered if after making sugarpaste models do you put anything on them to give them a more glossy finish and prevent the drying out look??? icon_confused.gif

2. arhhhh icing and writing with it, this was a major stress point for me, first i mixed the icing and wrote on the cake but then letters like the a and k ran abit and so it didn't look so good, so i then tried to make it a bit thicker but then it was hard to pipe with as it kept breaking is there a recipe/guide on how much icing sugar to liquid to use to write with??? and so i had to in the end cut out letters in some coloured sugar paste and put his name on that way. icon_cry.gif