Question For Those Who Bake And Sell From Home

Business By mommaroxy Updated 29 Nov 2014 , 4:52pm by mls2604

ladyj1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyj1 Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 11:52am
post #181 of 223

I am new to the posting area of this site but I felt like I needed to chime in. I really think there is this view that people who do business from home and are not "legal" are purposefully charging less to undercut their legal competitiors but that is not always the case. Many people charge less because they have no idea what they should/could be charging due to inexperience in business, etc. I am not saying that covers all home-based cakers, its just a thought.

I live in Arizona and the laws are a bit different however for people struggling with capital it is difficult to get started. I do bake from home and I started charging friends and family so I could accumulate enough money to pay for having my business name registered with the state, etc. They all knew why I was charging them so they were a big part of helping me get started. This may be an option for you to get the $500 donated by people who are close to you; I just let everyone know that they were contributing to the start up of my business.

TSmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TSmith Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 1:59pm
post #182 of 223

thanks for all the discouraging advie. you would have to be a million aire to afford to do all that. i will prob stop making cakes then cause i dont have the money to pay for all that crap.

kendi25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kendi25 Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 2:29pm
post #183 of 223

chutzpah, I am so sorry to hear that - I am seriously at a lose for words. I am truly sorry. Now I feel bad about it - very bad. I am so sorry.

Kendi

southaustingirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southaustingirl Posted 7 Nov 2008 , 2:50pm
post #184 of 223