Disaster Making A Squared Pan...help!!!

Decorating By ape74 Updated 20 Oct 2008 , 6:28pm by SugarBakers05

ape74 Posted 20 Oct 2008 , 4:19am
post #1 of 6

Well, I'm new in cc and I'm new at the whole decorating thing. I just finished my first Wilton course and I am very excited to learn more. Anyway, I had somewhat of a disaster today and I need your expertise. This is why I'm posting. Well, here are my issues. I will be practicing my first fondant cake tomorrow. I want to make a small squared "gift" cake with a bow and all. I have only practiced making round cakes. the only squared cakes I've done have been the 13 by 9 sheet cakes. I have never used the small 8 by 2 squared pan, other than for making brownies. Anyway, first of all, I struggled a little with the baking. It should be 35 to 40 minutes, but I had to bake it for 45. (It may be my oven). Anyway, the cake didn't really rise too much so I had such a hard time leveling it. Like I said, it wasn't too much, but enough to need leveling. I couldn't even get the leveler to cut inside the cake. I made such a disaster by forcing it that the cake started to crack from the corners. By the way, the cake looked a little craked from the middle. It didn't look even by the time I was done. Then, when I cut it in half to do the filling, it started doing the same thing. I tried to be careful, but when it came time to pick up the top part, it broke off a little from one corner. I fixed it using the butter cream, but of course this caused a crumb problem which I wasn't too concerned with it because I'm covering it with fondant, but what if I was only using buttercream? I was a little frustrated. So here are my questions. Why did it crack when I leveled it and when I cut it in half. Why was it even cracked in the middle to begin with? Why couldn't I make the leveler go in the cake? And finally another question that is not part of this, but that I've noticed on all my cakes when I frost them? Why is the buttercream always com