I Need Some Crumb-Coating Advice Please.

Decorating By cut-n-up Updated 20 Oct 2008 , 5:40am by cut-n-up

cut-n-up Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 6:03pm
post #1 of 6

icon_confused.gif I am new at this and I have to say you guys are great. I have only made 5 cakes but I really like it and my family and friends think maybe I have a nack for it I don't know maybe they drink too much or something. icon_lol.gif Well my problem is after I have refrigerated my cakes and finish carving and leveling I get ready to crumb-coat and everytime I have problems. I have watched youtube videos, read tutorials, used different icings but I fight it everytime to get a smooth surface. I usually have to do it several times to get it smooth and then I think that sweet flavor is too much. It seems that I have to spackle and touch up over and over. It looks like a bad sheetrock job. I still haven't got it. I don't really know if my royal icing is the right consistancy. I have used buttercream and same problem. I have tried using some parchment paper techniques. I have done it very very thin. It still is so so messy and needs so much extra work just for this small part. Help Help. icon_sad.gif Does anyone know some surefire tricks or techniques? Could you also let me know exactly what the consistncy should be? Also maybe a real good general recipe the doesn't overpower or over sweeten the cake?Thanks again. You guys are great.

5 replies
indydebi Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 6:12pm
post #2 of 6

Crumb coating doesn't have to be perfect since it's the undercoating of icing. I don't think royal is a good icing to ice with. Royal is designed to get hard and hold it's shape pretty quick ... not a good medium for icing a cake.

Crumb coating is to seal the cake's crumbs so when you do the next layer of icing, no crumbs will get in your icing.

Dont' worry about what your crumb coating looks like.