Satin Ice

Decorating By lilscakes Updated 19 Oct 2008 , 3:42am by BlakesCakes

lilscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilscakes Posted 18 Oct 2008 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 3

I want to order Satin Ice for a wedding cake I will be making. I've never used it before and thought rather than fight myself trying to achieve a black colour I would simply buy it. I've never used Satin Ice and wonder if anyone can tell me how much a 5 lb. bucket will cover. I am looking to do a 3 layer stacked whimsical cake . Also for anyone who has used this product before can yo advise the shelf life of this product? When rolling it, do I use a little crisco rather than powdered sugar? Thanks in advance for your anticipated responses! icon_smile.gif

2 replies
dragonflydreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dragonflydreams Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 12:44am
post #2 of 3

. . . here's a guideline . . . http://www.thebakerskitchen.com/CAKE_SHOPPE/Fondant_Gumpaste_%20Accessories/Rolled_Fondant_Icing/Rolled_Fondant_Quantity_Chart/rolled_fondant_quantity_chart.htm . . . as far as crisco vs. powdered sugar . . . if your fondant is sticky use PS . . . if it is dry use crisco . . . HTH . . . I'm sure you will enjoy working it (it is very user friendly - even for first timers) . . . good luck & have fun . . . icon_biggrin.gif . . . oh, and it tastes pretty good too . . . icon_biggrin.gif

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 3:42am
post #3 of 3

I use Satin Ice almost exclusively and I love the pre-made black. It does tend to be on the soft side, so I often mix it with about 1/3rd Wilton to stiffen it up a bit. It remains quite black, but less stretchy.

I'd suggest using a smear of crisco only for rolling, especially when using dark colors like black. PS increases stickiness and CS is a drying agent that can lead to elephant skin (and if mixed in with leftovers can sometimes cause fermentation).