Profitability?

Business By CharismaticMom Updated 20 Oct 2008 , 6:34pm by Denise

CharismaticMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharismaticMom Posted 18 Oct 2008 , 4:31am
post #1 of 9

Hello all! I am a newbie...to CC and to cake decorating, and I am loving it! Have my first order next week, and I've been pouring over pics on CC for inspiration!

I know asking how much money people make is a risky question, but I am wondering, is anyone willing to share a ballpark of what their net is per year? $5,000? $10,000? More? Less? How long did it take you to get there?

I'm in a mid-sized market, with not a lot of cake decorators out there, and wonder if I should even pursue doing this as a side job.

Thanks in advance for sharing!

8 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 18 Oct 2008 , 8:40am
post #2 of 9

Welcome to Cake Central.

It depends on whether or not it is legal in your state to sell home baked goods. Also, how much are you willing to work.

If you have to rent a legal kitchen, your profits will be reduce.

Also consider overhead, like insurance and equipment.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 18 Oct 2008 , 12:30pm
post #3 of 9

As a side business, I don't know how you would make a lot of money. By the time you pay your insurance and license fees and buy supplies, you're going to be out some $$. To make any serious money you need to work in volume, and at least full-time. icon_wink.gif I have 16-20 hour workdays some weeks.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 18 Oct 2008 , 10:55pm
post #4 of 9

"Net" profit is a difficult question because the first few years you are taking your profits and reinvesting it .... into advertising, into new equipment, into start up costs, etc. The smaller your gross sales, the higher your overhead (per unit / per cake / etc).