Help With My Speech!

Decorating By boygeniusandme Updated 16 Oct 2008 , 8:39pm by indydebi

boygeniusandme Posted 16 Oct 2008 , 2:45am
post #1 of 5

I'd like to do something about cakes/cake decorating for my informative speech for class. I cannot narrow down an outline. I need 3 main points/topics. I am a beginner/intermediate decorator, and do not use fondant yet.

I was thinking something like (1) Find perfect recipe/design/idea that fits with theme of event. (2) Gather all materials/supplies (3) Frost/Decorate.

Or maybe (1) Bake cake, (2) Frost cake (Give buttercream recipe, explain how to fill in between layers and ice smoothly), (3) Decorate cake (give examples of common decorations).

Any advice appreciated! I need to have posters/props/etc.

I was also considering doing a demo of simple Halloween cupcake with grass and spiders piped on (since speech is right before Halloween).

Also considering having enough materials for everyone to make a mini Halloween cupcake like the one I demo! Like every 2-3 people share supplies. I do have enough supplies, not too big of a class.

4 replies
CakeForte Posted 16 Oct 2008 , 3:25am
post #2 of 5

So this is a "how to" of sorts? Just some ideas...

Introduction - what you are going to talk about. "I'm going to tell you how to do XYZ to create this final product." Background...how did you get started? Why are you interested in this topic? The following presentation will show you how to get started.

Point 1 - Prepare materials and bake

(1) Find perfect recipe/design/idea that fits with theme of event. (2) Gather all materials/supplies

Point 2 - Tips to get the "perfect cake" ready to decorate.

Point 3 - How to ice and decorate. This is where your creativity comes through
2) Frost cake (Give buttercream recipe, explain how to fill in between layers and ice smoothly), (3) Decorate cake (give examples of common decorations).

You should also do the hands on demo. Anything interactive makes a great presentation.