Hello All! Im A Beginner And Have A Few Questions!!

Decorating By mommaroxy Updated 14 Oct 2008 , 12:07am by kakeladi

mommaroxy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommaroxy Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 6:25pm
post #1 of 3

First of all, this site is amazing! I love gazing at all the wonderful cakes and cant wait to be able to put mine up there as well. My 12 yr old son and I love to watch Ace of Cakes, Food Net. Challenge or anything wedding related cause I know theres cakes! This past weekend I made m first 3 level stacked cake. Homemade mmf and bc frosting. Those turned out great! I bought wilton food colors and what a difference!
I did use a box cake mix and it was ok, but crumbled quite a bit when crumb coating~is that typical?

I was wondering what some really good scratch recipies would be. There are soo many to choose from, so its hard to know which to choose. Id like a chocolate and a butter for sure.

I havent purchased a whole lot yet and was wondering what you all would recommend as "got to have". As far as pans, mats, etc. Also any advice on getting started in the cake biz. Id like to be able to sell cakes as there is hardly any custom bakeries(might be 2) where I live and I love to bake and create.

Thanks in advance for any advice, it will be greatl appreciated!
Oh, any tips on keeping the kids away from your work? My 2 yr old crawled up on the table and helped herself to a bite, right in the center of the decoration. It was cute to come in and find a perfect little bite mark dead center in the fondant circle!! Thankfully I am still practicing and it was just for the family. icon_biggrin.gif

Thanks again, have a great day everyone!

2 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 8:02pm
post #2 of 3

Welcome to Cake Central. There is a lot of information already in threads and you can search for topics of interest.