How Do I Crumb Coat A Cake?

Decorating By sugarwishes Updated 16 Oct 2008 , 8:04pm by yvy_cano

sugarwishes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarwishes Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 4:21pm
post #1 of 19

Every time I was crumb coating (or at least thought thats what I was doing) I was always using regular buttercream to do so. I'm now reading on other posts that it has to be a very thin layer. So heres my question:

How thin does the buttercream have to be? Am I supposed to add water and actually thin out my icing, or just use a small amount of buttercream?

I would appreciate someones help as I am VERY new at this.
Thank You icon_smile.gif

18 replies
cakecookingnut Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakecookingnut Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 19

I use water to thin out my buttercream to do my crumbcoat. After I coat the cake I usually sit the cake in the refrigerator or on the counter for about 15-30 minutes before I put the final coat of frosting on.

cherrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cherrycakes Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 4:39pm
post #3 of 19

I make sure my icing is a nice spreadable consistency. Then I use the advice of my instructor and spread the icing on like "buttering toast". Then put it in the fridge for a few minutes to set and then put the final coat on.

Rosie2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rosie2 Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 4:43pm
post #4 of 19

Sorry to butt-in icon_redface.gif ....do you always have to crumb coat a cake or only when you cover it with fondant? I never crumb coat my cakes...is that why my frosting never looks smooth??

BDW, I don't sell cakes or anything, ok? my cakes are only for family or friends icon_smile.gif

MacsMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacsMom Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 4:45pm
post #5 of 19