DEE5 Posted 12 Oct 2008 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 18

17 replies
SouthernSugar Posted 12 Oct 2008 , 11:45pm
post #2 of 18

I am!

DEE5 Posted 12 Oct 2008 , 11:59pm
post #3 of 18

Awesome! It's so nice to meet you! I am fairly new to the area and I'm a stay home mom. I've been decorating for about a year now! What about you?

SouthernSugar Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 12:10am
post #4 of 18

Nice to "meet" you too. I'm not from here either, from Seattle, but hubby works for FEMA so I guess we are here as long as there are hurricanes lol. I've been caking for about two years I guess, only taking it real seriously about the last six months or so. I'm home with my kids too, they are teenagers but I homeschool them so that is really my full time job.

DEE5 Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 12:37am
post #5 of 18

Wow, I bet your day is just as busy as mine! I have 3 small kids and they keep me quite busy to say the least! We're here due to my husband's job also. We're a military family. I just love to bake and decorate! I can chat about it all day icon_smile.gif I just discovered a new way to smooth the butter cream... You've probably already tried it, but it requires the use of a foam roller. Have you tried it?

SouthernSugar Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 12:58am
post #6 of 18

I did try the foam roller, it really didn't work for me though. I use a viva towel and copy paper. Have you made it out to Southern Homes & Gardens yet? There really aren't any cake toy stores here other than them, it isn't a very big caking section but better than the craft stores.

DEE5 Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 2:51am
post #7 of 18

No, I haven't been to Southern Home & Gardens. I think I'll see if they're open tomorrow. My latest project was a castle for my daughter and I just purchased the supplies from Michael's.

SouthernSugar Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 3:17am
post #8 of 18

Be sure to go to the Wetumpka Highway location, Vaughn Road does not carry any of the cake stuff, only plants and gifts.

DEE5 Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 1:56pm