I Am New At This.....

Decorating By kbw5780 Updated 12 Oct 2008 , 7:31pm by kbw5780

kbw5780 Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 7:06pm
post #1 of 9

I am just starting to make a few cakes here and there. So far, I have only used MMF or rolled fondant. I have found that I am no good at buttercream. I just can't get the edges right and it seems like I just make a big mess. Any ideas??

Ok and I have another question and this may sound crazy.....When you make a tiered cake, do you frost the top tiers before putting them onto the cake or put them on the cake and then frost the top tiers?? And would you cover the top tiers first with fondant before putting it all together? I have made one tiered cake a couple weeks ago, and it turned out okay, but it still didn't look as 'crisp' as I would have liked....I did cover the top tier with fondant first before placing it on top of the cake that time.

This website is awesome and thanks in advance for your help!!!!!

8 replies
JanH Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 7:31pm
post #2 of 9

Hi and Welcome to CC, kbw5780. icon_smile.gif

Decoding CC acronyms:

Everything you ever wanted to know about making your 1st tiered/stacked cake:

Everything you ever wanted to know about meringue and other b/c's:

Between these two threads, all your questions should be answered and perhaps a few you hadn't thought of.....

Look forward to seeing pics of your cakes.

angelatx Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 8:25pm
post #3 of 9

hi kbw!! you will love this site, everyone on here is soooo super nice and someone is always around to help you with questions. I love this place!! Enjoy your stay! icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif Angela icon_smile.gif

kbw5780 Posted 12 Oct 2008 , 4:20pm
post #4 of 9

I tried the websites above and it doesn't take me anywhere. Am I doing something wrong?

mommakristin Posted 12 Oct 2008 , 4:38pm
post #5 of 9

Hey there,

My suggestions to you is that you order the Sugarshack's DVDs on using buttercream and fondant as well as the stacked DVD.