How Can I Use Pearl Shimmer Dust On Butter Cream? Help

Decorating By CocoaBlondie Updated 12 Oct 2008 , 4:51pm by RobzC8kz

CocoaBlondie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CocoaBlondie Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 6:12pm
post #1 of 10

I have a customer that wants buttercream icing & wants it to shimmer like gold. I bought some gold dust, but have only used it in small area. What can I do? The color of the icing is a dark tan.

9 replies
CherryLane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CherryLane Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 6:30pm
post #2 of 10

You can airbrush it on buttercream cakes. I do all the time.

tonimarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonimarie Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 6:34pm
post #3 of 10

First I am NO expert, but I did a cake last week and brushed silver dust onto buttercream roses. I made them the day before and then mixed the dust with/rum and brushed it on; it worked beautifully. I would think that if you frost one day and brush it on the next, it would work just fine. JMHO. Good luck icon_smile.gif

Momkiksbutt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momkiksbutt Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 6:42pm
post #4 of 10

Just let it crust well for a bit and then gently brush it on. I do it all the time.

Don't ya just love the dust??? thumbs_up.gif

butterfly831915 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterfly831915 Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 6:42pm
post #5 of 10

I have used luster dust for this but the shimmer dust just didn't give the same look. Just let the icing crisp before you brush on the luster dust mixed with vodka or rum. Good luck, hope it works out for you.... icon_smile.gif

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 6:43pm
post #6 of 10

You can also buy gold edible paint in a can. Just spray it on.

CocoaBlondie Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 6:53pm
post #7 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Momkiksbutt

Just let it crust well for a bit and then gently brush it on. I do it all the time.

Don't ya just love the dust??? thumbs_up.gif