Anyone Have These Wilton Fondant Cut & Press Sets???

Decorating By prcutie71 Updated 13 Oct 2008 , 2:42am by joeskitty

prcutie71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prcutie71 Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 9:15am
post #1 of 7

HELP!!!
I bought these and thought it would be a breeze to use...uh NOPE!!! I read the instructions, executed...OMG!! I almost threw them in the ocean! My DH was laughing at me because I was so frustrated. I am pretty new to cake decorating and I thought these would be fun...so far...uh NO!
The fondant gets stuck in the the press and when I try to get it out with and tool it ruins it...I have sprinkled some powdered sugar in it, NOPE not that either!!!!
If anyone has these and can offer some BETTER help or advice...I am all EYES icon_eek.gif ...lol I would be all ears if I could hear you...lol
LL

6 replies
banba Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
banba Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 9:30am
post #2 of 7

I can't see your attached picture but the one bit of advice I can offer regarding fondant and press sets is to roll the fondant super thin and leave it sit for a while then turn it over and leave it sit for another while and then try cutting/pressing the piece of fondant. I found this is the only way my letter sets work for me.

Tona Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tona Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 9:55am
post #3 of 7

I bought these also and had the same problem ended up giving them away. To much trouble.

karenm0712 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karenm0712 Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 10:55am
post #4 of 7

I have considered purchasing these...so while I don't have any advice, I would love to hear more thoughts about these items and how you use them! icon_smile.gif

SILVERCAT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SILVERCAT Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 11:21am
post #5 of 7

Have you tried coating the press with crisco?

shadowgypsie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shadowgypsie Posted 13 Oct 2008 , 2:08am
post #6 of 7