What Do I Do Now??? Cake's Due Tomorrow - Ethical Dilemma

Decorating By berryblondeboys Updated 10 Oct 2008 , 1:05am by xstitcher

berryblondeboys Posted 9 Oct 2008 , 2:19am
post #1 of 7

Ok, so I said I would make a mini cake and I've never done it before. When I saw and then she saw how small that would be, she decided and I agreed that we should go up a size. So, we did, HOWEVER.... Is this stable??? How do I constuct it?

It's a 6" base, a 4.5" middle and a 3" top.

If I do 2" base, 2" middle and 2" top (with filling it's about 2.5" tall each layer), it looks a little short and squat. If I do 3" inches (but with filling it's really 4"), it looks HUGELY tall and skinny.. basically it's only 6.5" wide and 8" tall!!! It looks like it will be unstable.

I know for the lady that the serving size was an issue. She wants it MAINLY for her MIL and FIL, but also other people will want to taste.... but if I cut it down a layer, they'll lose that much cake...

What if I just did TWO layers - 6" and 4" at 4" tall? Is that unethical to ditch a layer? they'll have more cake this way than if I take out a bit from each layer...

Ack!!! I'll never get this cake stuff down so that I feel CONFIDENT!

Melissa

6 replies
DianeLM Posted 9 Oct 2008 , 2:35am
post #2 of 7

I have done tall, skinny cakes like that. I freaked at first, too, but my method works every time.

I use straws as dowels to support the upper tiers -- BUT -- inside each straw, I hammer a piece of sharpened bamboo skewer into the cake board. I cut the skewers the same height as the straws so they're slightly below the surface of the straws once hammered in.

Then, I hammer a long, sharpened dowel through the entire cake and into the base board.

Just warn your customer about all those skewers. I've had repeat orders for cakes with this type of construction, so it's not a problem for those customers. Can't speak for everyone. icon_smile.gif

FromScratch Posted 9 Oct 2008 , 2:47am
post #3 of 7