First Cake Ever For Moms Birthday

Decorating By beemarie88 Updated 11 Nov 2008 , 5:06pm by beemarie88

beemarie88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beemarie88 Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 5:09pm
post #1 of 34

I am 20 years old and I have never made a cake without my mom's help. October 13th is her birthday and I have no idea what to do. icon_cry.gif I got a vanilla cake mix and i also have fondant because i am doing cookies for Christmas. BUT I have never used it for a cake before any help or ideas on what i can do would be WONDERFUL! party.gif

-Bethany distraught first time baker

33 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 34

Take a deep breath, let it out & pull your shoulders downicon_smile.gif Relax!! You will do fine.
I think fondant is harder to use than b'cream for a 1st timer....I'm sure some will disagree w/that......
What borders or other techniques do you know how to make? Shells? ZigZags? Have you ever used a pastry bag & tip?
You could use cookie cutters to make decorations...
flowers, diamonds, ?? Just roll the fondant out like pie dough and cut your designs. If you let them dry over the next few days you could even icing glue a toothpick on the back to they stand up.
If you don't know how to use a pastry bag to pipe with, roll out long, thin snakes of fondant in 2 or 3 c olors and twist them together; wrap around the cake for a border.
Find out what mom's favorate color(s) is/are to work with.
Just remember simple is elegant. You don't have to put all kinds of stuff on it to make it look good!

beemarie88 Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 5:35pm
post #3 of 34