Making A Living

Business By sweetkisscakes Updated 23 Oct 2008 , 5:13pm by cakedout

sweetkisscakes Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 11:51am
post #1 of 28

I am 18 years old and very willing to learn.I work as a cake decorater at wal mart and I have taken some wilton classes but the lack of creativity there is driving me crazy. Ultimately I want to be able to support myself off of just making cakes. My question for you is how do I get to that point? and is it even possible? I have had many people tell me unless I live in a big city it can just be a hobby. any advice is greatly appreciated I don't wanna give up on this dream.

27 replies
littlecake Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 6:53pm
post #2 of 28

how do the "many people" know? have they ever tried it?

in business everyone and their brother will tell you why you can't do it, esp your family.

you got a good start working at the wal mart bakery, i suppose you can ice a cake pretty fast, and have a general knowledge of things.

you could go to some other more upscale bakeries and apply for a job there, and you can learn more things.

i've been doing this professionally for about 10 years, opened my own shop eventually.

i hope you have a passion for it, it's hard work, and you most likely won't get rich doing it.

i have learned tons of stuff off this site, and there are dvd's you can buy, and theres some videos on you tube you can learn from.

GOOD LUCK

indydebi Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 10:48pm
post #3 of 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlecake

how do the "many people" know? have they ever tried it?

in business everyone and their brother will tell you why you can't do it, esp your family.

Abso-freaking-lutely!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RobzC8kz Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 11:48pm
post #4 of 28

Luckily for you, those "many people" aren't going to be your competition!! Don't listen to what they say. If you work hard enough at it, and become good enough, you can make a living off of decorating cakes!!